Do you allow optional cookies?

In addition to technically necessary cookies, we would like to use analysis cookies to better understand our target group. You can find out more about this in our privacy policy. You can revoke your consent at any time.

KKVG #7 Apr 2018

The 7th Cologne Art Insurance Talk 2018 in retrospect.

Gurlitt, Stern, Flechtheim - who insures me history? - this was the title of this year's 7th Cologne Art Insurance Talk as part of Art Cologne.

"Who insures history for me?" asked the 7th Cologne Art Insurance Talk. At the invitation of the Cologne art insurance broker Zilkens Fine Art, experts from the insurance industry, art trade and journalism discussed a topic that is increasingly influencing the art trade against the backdrop of current and future legislation in front of around 200 guests at the Art Cologne on Friday, 20 April.

It turned out that the provenance of works of art is not only still, but increasingly, a challenge for the industry and for collectors. Hardly practicable to absurd legal regulations of the EU and Germany partly represent existence-threatening obstacles for the trade and move collectors close to criminality.

"This industry has no lobby," Zilkens explained in his introduction. In addition, differences to the legal system in the USA lead to imponderables. Even forms of property acquisition that were previously believed to be safe are unpredictable as a result, as current cases show.

The trade has been making great efforts to clarify provenance for years. Karin Schulze-Frieling from the Dortmunder Galerie Utermann, who is also on the board of the Bundesverband Deutscher Galerien BVDG (Association of German Galleries), explained the procedure for taking over works of art: First, the authenticity is checked, then the value is determined and a contract is drawn up with the owner that regulates the modalities of the sale. Then the provenance research begins. She pointed out that the trade is even obliged to do this. The 1,000 works that have been discovered so far have all been identified by the trade.

Provenance research routinely involves consulting relevant databases in which looted art and stolen artworks are listed. Amelie Ebbinghaus of Art Loss Register in London reported that in addition to galleries, 110 auction houses now have their company check all lots for provenance starting at low four-digit estimate prices. For this purpose, it uses its own database as well as that of Interpol, and in more difficult cases, other sources such as Lostart and ERR Project in France, as well as auction catalogues from the immediate post-war period. So-called Red Flag Names, numbering in the thousands, automatically triggered more intensive research. Schulze-Frieling criticised the fact that Lostart, for example, had to be used but was open to abuse, since anyone could enter anything there and thus make it non-tradable. The Art Loss Register, on the other hand, wants to know who is accessing its own data in order to avoid misuse and, in the case of positive hits, to prevent the works from disappearing again to be offered somewhere again.

Julia Barbara Ries from Ergo-Kunstversicherung also checks works for provenance and authenticity because she cannot insure such risks. However, she leaves detailed provenance research to specialists. Defective title insurance could possibly cover third-party property claims, either as legal expenses insurance or at least with reimbursement of the purchase price if the claims turn out to be justified. This insurance is offered by a few providers for new purchases in the insurance period with low limits in the private sector as legal protection. Special title insurance from the Anglo-American area went further, for example in the case of restitution of loans.

Author Maurice Philip Remy insists that the Holocaust be dealt with, but pointed out that less than 0.1 of the works examined are actually suspected of being looted. However, he sees the obligation to act mainly on the part of the state. He asked why Jewish victims and their heirs still have to act as supplicants to German museums. The additional funds just approved for provenance research of 6 million euros were ridiculous, he said, considering that researching the 1,500 works in the Gurlitt collection had already cost 3 million euros. At the current rate, it would take 1,000 years to examine all museum holdings.

There are no grounds at all for restitution from private property. Only Article 14 of the Basic Law allows confiscation in the public interest. But nobody wants that, the last person to do so being the Minister of Finance. All initiatives by the legislator were therefore only intended to divert attention from their own failures and to shift responsibility to the trade.

He emphasises that the Gurlitt collection is in fact an accumulation that has accumulated in the family over the course of a century. In his opinion, it should not have left the country at all because of the Cultural Property Protection Act, not even because of the quality, which is mediocre in parts, but because of the history of the collection, which depicts the drama of 19th/20th century German history.

He emphasises that it is a private collection which, regardless of whether it contains looted art or not, should never have been confiscated because it is not subject to restitution.

Ebbinghaus expressed concern that amicable settlements usually work better than court proceedings because there is always a winner and a loser in lawsuits and the proceedings can drag on for decades. Schulze-Frieling demanded that the state should set a good example so that private collectors also feel encouraged to contribute to settlements. Markus H. Stötzel, a lawyer present in the audience who has been representing the heirs of the legendary art dealer Alfred Flechtheim for ten years, also expressed this view. Politics can get involved, but it doesn't have to. There is no legal basis." So far, restitutions by private parties have run on a moral basis. "The legislator should put that on a binding basis," he demands, expressing the general consensus of those involved.

Read lecture

Optionale Cookies erlauben?

Neben technisch notwendigen Cookies möchten wir Analyse-Cookies nutzen, um unsere Zielgruppe besser zu verstehen. Mehr dazu in unserer Datenschutz­erklärung. Sie können Ihre Zustimmung jederzeit widerrufen.

KKVG #7 Apr 2018

7. Kölner Kunst­versicherungs­gespräch
12. April 2018 auf der Art Cologne

Gurlitt, Stern, Flechtheim - wer versichert mir Geschichte? - unter diesem Titel fand dieses Jahr das 7. Kölner Kunstversicherungsgespräch im Rahmen der Art Cologne statt.

„Wer versichert mir Geschichte?“ fragte das 7. Kölner Kunstversicherungsgespräch. Vor rund 200 Gästen diskutierten auf Einladung des Kölner Kunstversicherungsmaklers Zilkens Fine Art auf der Art Cologne am Freitag, 20. April Fachleute aus Versicherungswirtschaft, Kunsthandel und Journalismus über ein Thema, das vor dem Hintergrund aktueller und zukünftiger Gesetzgebung den Kunsthandel zunehmend beeinflusst.

Dabei stellte sich heraus, dass die Provenienz von Kunstwerken nicht nur immer noch, sondern zunehmend eine Herausforderung für die Branche und für Sammler darstellt. Schwer praktikable bis absurde rechtliche Regelungen der EU und Deutschlands stellen zum Teil existenzbedrohende Behinderungen für den Handel dar und rücken Sammler in die Nähe zur Kriminalität.

„Diese Branche hat keine Lobby“, erklärte Zilkens in seiner Einführung. Zudem führten Unterschiede zum Rechtssystem der USA zu Unwägbarkeiten. Selbst bisher sicher geglaubte Formen des Eigentumserwerbs seien dadurch unberechenbar, wie aktuelle Fälle zeigten.

Dabei unternimmt der Handel bereits seit Jahren große Anstrengungen bei der Klärung von Provenienzen. Karin Schulze-Frieling von der Dortmunder Galerie Utermann, die gleichzeitig im Vorstand des Bundesverbandes Deutscher Galerien BVDG ist, erklärte das Vorgehen bei der Übernahme von Kunstwerken: Zunächst werde die Echtheit geprüft, anschließend der Wert ermittelt und ein Vertrag mit dem Eigentümer ausgearbeitet, der die Verkaufsmodalitäten regelt. Danach beginne die Provenienzforschung. Sie wies darauf hin, dass der Handel dazu sogar verpflichtet ist. Die 1.000 Werke, die bisher entdeckt wurden, seien alle vom Handel identifiziert worden.

Zur Provenienzrecherche gehört routinemäßig die Abfrage einschlägiger Datenbanken, in denen Raubkunst und gestohlene Kunstwerke verzeichnet sind. Amelie Ebbinghaus von Art Loss Register in London berichtete, dass neben Galerien mittlerweile 110 Auktionshäuser ihre Firma mit der Prüfung aller Lose schon ab niedrigen vierstelligen Schätzpreisen auf Provenienz überprüfen lassen. Sie nutzt dafür sowohl die eigene Datenbank wie auch die von Interpol, bei schwierigeren Fällen weitere Quellen wie Lostart und ERR Project in Frankreich, sowie Auktionskataloge der unmittelbaren Nachkriegszeit. Sogenannte Red Flag Names, deren Zahl in die Tausende gehen, lösten automatisch intensivere Recherchen aus. Schulze-Frieling bemängelte, dass etwa Lostart benutzt werden müsse, aber offen für Missbrauch sei, da dort jeder alles eintragen und damit nicht handelbar machen kann. Das Art Loss Register hingegen will wissen, wer auf die eigenen Daten zugreift, um Missbrauch zu vermeiden und um bei positiven Treffern zu verhindern, dass die Werke wieder abtauchen, um erneut irgendwo angeboten zu werden.

Julia Barbara Ries von der Ergo-Kunstversicherung prüft Werke ebenfalls auf Provenienz und Echtheit, weil sie solche Risiken nicht versichern kann. Detailprovenienzforschung überlässt sie jedoch Spezialisten. Über eine Defective Title-Insurance könnten Eigentumsansprüche Dritter unter Umständen gedeckt werden, entweder als Rechtsschutzversicherung oder zumindest mit Erstattung des Kaufpreises, falls sich die Ansprüche als berechtigt erweisen. Diese Versicherung wird bei wenigen Anbietern für Neuankäufe in der Versicherungsperiode mit niedrigen Limiten im Privatbereich als Rechtschutz angeboten. Spezielle Title-Versicherungen aus dem anglo-amerikanischen Raum gingen weiter, etwa bei Restitutionen von Ausleihen.

Der Autor Maurice Philip Remy besteht darauf, dass der Holocaust aufgearbeitet wird, wies aber darauf hin, dass weniger als 0,1 der geprüften Werke tatsächlich raubkunstverdächtig sind. Die Verpflichtung zu handeln, sieht er jedoch hauptsächlich beim Staat. Er fragte, warum jüdische Opfer und deren Erben deutschen Museen gegenüber immer noch als Bittsteller auftreten müssen. Die gerade bewilligten zusätzlichen Mittel für Provenienzforschung von 6 Millionen Euro seien lächerlich, wenn man bedenkt, dass die Erforschung der 1.500 Werke der Sammlung Gurlitt schon 3 Mio. Euro gekostet hat. Beim bisherigen Tempo würde die Überprüfung aller Museumsbestände 1.000 Jahre dauern.

Aus Privatbesitz bestehe überhaupt keine Handhabe für Restituierung. Lediglich Art. 14 des Grundgesetzes ermöglicht Beschlagnahme im Sinne des öffentlichen Interesses. Das wolle aber niemand, als letzter der Finanzminister. Alle Initiativen des Gesetzgebers sollten daher nur die Aufmerksamkeit von den eigenen Versäumnissen ablenken und die Verantwortung an den Handel abwälzen.

Er betont, dass die Sammlung Gurlitt tatsächlich eine Ansammlung ist, die sich im Lauf von einem Jahrhundert in der Familie angehäuft hat. Seiner Meinung nach hätte sie aufgrund des Kulturgutschutzgesetzes das Land überhaupt nicht verlassen dürfen, gar nicht mal wegen der Qualität, die in Teilen medioker sei, sondern wegen der Sammlungsgeschichte, die das Drama der deutschen Geschichte des 19./20. abbildet.

Er betont, dass es sich um eine Privatsammlung handelt, die, egal, ob Raubkunst dabei ist oder nicht, auf gar keinen Fall hätte beschlagnahmt werden dürfen, weil sie nicht restitutionspflichtig ist.

Ebbinghaus gab zu Bedenken, dass einvernehmliche Regelungen in der Regel besser funktionieren als Gerichtsverfahren, weil es in Prozessen immer einen Gewinner und einen Verlierer gibt und die Verfahren sich über Jahrzehnte hinziehen können. Schulze-Frieling forderte, der Staat solle mit gutem Beispiel vorangehen, damit sich auch private Sammler animiert fühlen, zur Einigungen beizutragen. In diesem Sinne äußerte sich auch der im Publikum anwesende Anwalt Markus H. Stötzel, der seit zehn Jahren die Erben des legendären Kunsthändlers Alfred Flechtheim vertritt. Die Politik kann sich zwar engagieren, muss es aber nicht. Es gibt keine gesetzliche Grundlage.“ Bisher liefen Restitutionen von Privat auf moralischer Grundlage. „Das sollte der Gesetzgeber auf eine verbindliche Basis stellen“, fordert er und drückt damit den allgemeinen Konsens der Beteiligten aus.

Vortrag lesen